The Mediterranean Diet

UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity

The Mediterranean Diet – from the Greek word díaita, lifestyle – is a social practice based on the set of skills, knowledge, practices and traditions ranging from the landscape to the cuisine, which in the countries of the Mediterranean culture concern the crops, harvesting, fishing, conservation, processing, preparation and, particularly, consumption.

Emblematic Communities

Seven emblematic communities comprise the representation for this cultural heritage: Cyprus, Croatia, Spain, Greece, Italy, Morocco, and Portugal. These communities both protect the history and cultural assets of this heritage, as well as help to promote its values ​​and practices throughout the world.

Explore the Mediterranean Diet

UNESCO Mediterranean Diet

History of the Mediterranean Diet

Stay Updated

Read all the latest news from the Emblematic Communities here. 


Island at the table: Mediterranean Diet between global processes and Island knowledge Jelsa, island of Hvar, Municipal Hall,28 – 30 September, 2023. After five years of meeting on Vis and

Read More »